update

July 5, 2012

So yeah, it’s been awhile. I updated Bug’s kindy curriculum (the page, 2011-2012 Curriculum) to reflect what we completed and to share some of the resources that I liked. Overall, I think it was a pretty productive year, but most of all we had fun. She was being Miss Complainy toward the end but funny thing is the first day of our break she brought her math box out and asked if we could work on it : )

So far our summer has been Nature camp at the local park, Girl Scout Day camp, reading easy readers (which deserve more detail that I will address later in this post), visiting friends and family, and lots of playing. 

Nature camp was just a half day, every day for a week–I think it was a good way to prepare for the GS camp. She loved it especially because her cousin/bff was there, too.

Girls Scout camp was from 8-3, every day for a week. I volunteered at camp so that she could go for free, but she didn’t want to be with me all day since we do that at home, too, so I was with second graders, a couple tents down from her. She really loved it, it was like half a year of GS meetings, outside all day, and full of extra fun b/c it’s the 100th anniversary of Girl Scouts. I enjoyed that she was the second generation to go–she even had the same beloved director from when I went eons ago. And camp made me realize how much I miss hiking–my group went rambling and creek stomping with some of the older girls. Bug’s group only went on a hike once, which is a shame since one of the best features of the camp is the natural area. Once we get out of these record breaking highs I want to go on a camping trip and go hiking. 

Before I log off of here I want to tell you about the books Bug has been reading. She is not quite comfortable in her ability to read  and still a new reader so to boost her confidence I have been collecting books that will let her read independently–the winners usually have one-two sentences per page, with sight words she knows and/or words she can sound out on her own, for the most part. I found several at the thrift store and a few at Target. Here are some of the winners–

Bear Hugs by Alyssa Satin Capucilli

Sleepy Dog by Harriet Ziefert

I Like Me by Nancy Carlson

Hot Dog by Molly Coxe

I am Lost by Hans Wilhelm

the consonant and short vowel series of phonics readers from Tag

I try to get her to read one every day. Hopefully when school starts up in August she will be ready to go. Btw, we got our materials from the school (she is signed up with our state’s virtual academy) already–70+ pounds of educational fun. I will probably start going through it next week so that I can get it organized, for now it is all still in boxes.

Maybe if I wouldn’t have such long breaks from blogging I wouldn’t write a novella everytime I blog. Anywho. Hope you are enjoying your summer.

 

One Response to “update”


  1. […] her skills–I am also forever on the hunt for books on her level for independent reading. I posted a few finds over the summer  but the collection has grown a bit since […]


Leave a Reply

