outdoor hour challenge #1

August 11, 2011

“She should say frankly, ‘I do not know; let us see if we cannot together find out this mysterious thing. Maybe no one knows it as yet, and I wonder if you will discover it before I do.'” ~Anna Botsford Comstock, Handbook of Nature Study

I have held onto the idea of nature study and now, hope to finally make it a regular part of our little school, thanks to Anna Botsford Comstock’s Handbook of Nautre Study and the Outdoor Hour Challenges from the Handbook of Nature Study blog. For our first official nature study under the Outdoor Hour Challenge, we went on a hike at our favorite nature park. We had a lovely quite walk through the woods. While we rested, I asked her what caught her interest, and she made this journal entry of a snag.

On our hike back to the car she seemed to notice much more, inlcuding lots of little lizards warming themselves on sun-splashed rocks.

Our topics to study–

  • spiny lizards
  • snags
One Response to “outdoor hour challenge #1”


  1. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and your nature study this week with the OHC. I too love that we don’t need to know everything and keep that in mind especially as my high school age boys begin to know more than I do. 🙂

    I think you picked two interesting things to learn about and I look forward to seeing your next entry!


Leave a Reply

